A number of awards are presented annually at the Club ice show. The following is a partial list of recipients.

Chapman Mercer Performance Cup
The Chapman Mercer Performance Cup is awarded to a club skater who demonstrates exemplary performance at competitions throughout the skating season. The cup first first awarded in 2015 to mark the club’s 50th anniversary, and is named in honour of Wendy Mercer, original club member, longest standing club coach, friend and champion of the sport of Figure Skating.

  • 2019: Lillian Evans
  • 2018: Elin Maskova
  • 2017: Eve Blagdon
  • 2016: Eve Blagdon
  • 2015: Abby Pace

Programme Assistant of the year awards

Our CanSkate programme operates through the efforts of our professional coaches combined with the skills of our programme assistants. The programme assistants are young skaters who lend their time to help coach the CanSkate programme. Every year we present an award to the Programme Assistant of the Year, as a mark of our appreciation of the hard work and professionalism shown by these young people.

  • 2019: Katie Best
  • 2018: Elin Maskova
  • 2017: Dayton Fifield
  • 2015: Erin Maher
  • 2014: Jenny Biles
  • 2013: Marlee Rae
  • 2012: Breaunna Miller
  • 2011: Nicole Burt
  • 2010: Sarah-Jane Downton
  • 2009: Yvonne Chan
  • 2008: Carly Austin
  • 2007: Allie Winter and Robyn LeDrew
  • 2006: Megan Burt and Jennifer Noel
  • 2005: Beth Liverman
  • 2004: Samantha Phelan
  • 2003: Andrea Thistle
  • 2002: Jennifer Osmond
  • 2001: Alison Pardy

Programme Assistant Award of Excellence

The criteria for this award are

  • At least 5 years PA experience
  • PAing with enthusiasm
  • Takes initiative to problem solve in relationship to group work
  • Excellent interest in skills development
  • Incorporates fun into the programme
  • Volunteers more than is required by the club


  • 2019: Dayton Fifield
  • 2018: Kathleen Curran and Allison Randell
  • 2017: Elin Maskova
  • 2016: Erin Maher, Lauren Woodruff and
  • Jenny Biles
  • 2015: Hayley Porter
  • 2014: Ashley Morgan
  • 2013: Kim French & Breaunna Miller
  • 2012: Marlee Rae
  • 2011: Carly Austin and Valerie Ball
  • 2010: Yvonne Chan and Nicole Burt
  • 2009: Megan Burt
  • 2008: Andrea Thistle, Beth Liverman, Allie Winter and Robyn LeDrew

CanPowerSkate Programme Assistant Award

2011: Courtney Dymond
2010: Chad Carter
2009: Shane Roberts

John Hall

John Hall Memorial Award for volunteers

This award is presented during an annual club Ice Show, Exhibition or AGM by a member of the Hall family if possible. The award was presented for the first time in 2009.
Active and currently registered adult volunteer whose efforts have produced specific, positive results in our club;
An individual whose contributions reflect passion for the sport and its participants;
An individual who has been involved in the sport of figure skating for a minimum of 5 years;
An individual who is an exemplary role model for other volunteers, skaters, coaches etc., and who leads by example; and
Past winners of this award are not eligible for re-nomination.

The Executive Committee is the selection committee, and are not eligible for this award. All nominations will be sent to the President of the club and the executive committee will then select the winner.

John Hall, an adult competitive skater who represented the club at international competitions (including the ISU Adult Figure Skating Competition in Oberstdorf, Germany) in 2006 passed away Sunday, October 14, 2007 after a year long courageous battle with cancer. John was a fine and committed volunteer, a former executive member of Prince of Wales SC, and part of the volunteer team at Mastercard Skate Canada. John led the way for adult recreational skaters in Newfoundland and Labrador, and made many friends in the adult skating community across Canada and internationally competing in France, Germany and across Canada.

  • 2019: DeeAnne Feltham-Scott
  • 2018:  Wendy Mercer
  • 2017: Tracey Fifield
  • 2016: Kim French
  • 2015: Marjorie Noel
  • 2014: Dana Boucher
  • 2013: Christine Morgan
  • 2012: Gigi Downton
  • 2011: Dave Liverman
  • 2010: Ruth Noel
  • 2009: Donna Burt

CanSkater of the Year

  • 2017: Nathan Wilson
  • 2015: Adam Masek
  • 2014: Julia Yang
  • 2013: Jake Billard
  • 2012: Sophie Bennett
  • 2011: Lauren Quinlan
  • 2010: Anna Carter
  • 2009: Alison Jeon
  • 2008: RJ Lee
  • 2007: Jenny Biles
  • 2006: Brittany Hiscock
  • 2005: Iona Stylianides
  • 2004: Julia Howley
  • 2003: Julia Kennedy
  • 2002: Nicole Mallay
  • 2001: Katy Churchill

Canskate Champions/ Spirit of Canskate medalists
2017: Charlotte Madden and Taylor-Jo Galarneau
2015: Maggie and Anna Saunders
2014: Marin Rowe and Sarah Grace Li
2013: Grace Parsons & Connor Flaherty
2012: Ebyni Clarke and Takoda Druken
2011: Sarah Evans and Melanie Coady
2010: Jena Dyer & Sarah Pace
2009: Shannon Finn & Breauna Reid
2008: Elin Maskova and Emily Samson
2007: Heidi Dunphy and Meghan Allen
2006: Michaela Du Toit and Fiona O’Flaherty
2005: Gillian Bowering and Emily Griffin
2004: Bridgett Mackey and Julia Buckley
2003: Mark Hand and Matthew Drodge
2002: Michaela Croke and Stephen Pope

Olivia Burke Memorial CanpowerSkater of the Year award

This award is made in memory of Olvia Burke, a participant in the Club’s PreCanSkate programme who passed away tragically on January 7 2008.

2018:  Maxwell Branton

2017: Carrie Milks

2016:  Ethan Collins
2015: Liam Hedges
2014: Chloe Loehr
2013: Ronan Whitten
2012: Brady Mitchlemore
2011: Zachery Layman
2010: Ryan Maher
2009: Dawson Langdon