Position: Skating Director – Club Coach

Prince of Wales Skating Club (POWSC) offers a full range of programs including CanPowerSkating , PreCanSkate, CanSkate, Synchronized Skating, STARSkate and Competitive Figure Skating.  The Club has approximately 1200 members and operates out of St. John’s, NL.  The Prince of Wales Skating Club is seeking an experienced, organized, enthusiastic, highly motivated professional with a passion for skating who demonstrates strong interpersonal skills with children, parents, fellow coaches and the club executive to join the team as Skating Director.

This new position will work to create, implement and maintain high quality instructional skating programs which are consistent with the needs and interests of POWSC.  The applicant must be committed to expanding and developing the current skating programs.

 Duties and Responsibilities Include:

– Prepare and/or revise skating program annually (on-ice and off-ice) in co-operation with the Board of Directors and coaching staff

– Attend Board of Directors meetings

– Provide Leadership and coordination for the POWSC programs (CanSkate, Synchronized, STARSkate and Competitive Skating)

– Provide leadership and coordination for special events such as test days, ice shows, competitions, skaters’ banquets and guest coach seminars

– Provide group, semi-private, and private lessons to our STARSkate athletes both on and off the ice

– Develop and coordinate promotion of all club programs

– Communication with skaters and parents

 The candidate shall meet the following qualifications:

– NCCP Certified Level 3 preferred.  Will consider other levels based on experience.

– Valid CPR/First Aid Training

– Skate Canada professional coaching membership – current and in good standing

– Ability to work in an established coaching environment

Compensation is competitive and based on qualifications and experience.

Candidates should submit their resume and cover letter to Vlastmil Masek at powsc.prez@gmail.com by June 10, 2018.


Spring Office Hours

The following is a list of the dates the office will be open during the Spring season:

May 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17, 23, 24, 25, 29, 30, 31

June 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22


The Office will close on June 22, re-opening August 6, 2018

Year End Banquet and Awards

Skaters enjoyed celebrating this years accomplishments at our year end banquet on Saturday, April 28th.

Elin Maskova was this years winner of the Chapman Mercer performance cup. This trophy is awarded annually to the club skater who demonstrates exemplary performance at competitions throughout the skating season.
It is named in honour of Wendy Mercer, original club member, longest standing club coach, friend and champion of the sport of skating.
Elin competed in the Pre-Novice catagory this season and is coached by Wendy Mercer. Elin was also awarded the PA of the year award for her dedication to our CanSkate program.

Kathleen Curran and Allison Randell were both recipients of the PA award of excellence.

For more pictures of our banquet please visit our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/powsc1963/posts/455804104856965


Ice Show – 50/50 Draw

The winner of the 50/50 draw held at Jack Byrne Arena on April 22, 2018 is Paul Fifield winning $501.00!!  Congratulations!

2018 NL Summer Skating Academy – Skate Canada Newfoundland & Labrador

2018 Summer Skating Academy
Registration will open on Tuesday April 24

Atlantic Skating Championships

The club had a wonderful showing at the 2018 Atlantic Skating Championships held in East Hantz, NS this past weekend. Kathleen Curran became the new Atlantic Champion in the Star 7 catagory and we earned an additional 5 medals in various categories.

Club results as follows;

Kathleen Curran - Atlantic Champion

Kathleen Curran – Atlantic Champion


Kathleen Curran – Star 7


Dayton Fifield – Star 9


Elin Maskova – PreNovice

Dayton Fifield – Gold Woman

Georgia Scott – Star 5 u13

Boroka Albert – PreJuvenile u11


Eve Blagdon 7th – PreNovice

Katie Best 6th – PreJuvenile u13

Eva Myrick 12th – Star 5 u10

Mikayla Fennelly 10th – Star 6

Kathleen Curran 6th – Star 8

Victoria Short 14th – Star 10



POWSC Spring 2018 Workshop

ppThe Prince of Wales Skating Club was delighted to host a spring workshop for STAR/Competitive skaters during the weekend of April 21st with guest coaches are Ice Dance Olympians, Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier, who finished 6th at the recent 2018 ISU World Championships in Milano.

2018 Avalon Region Spring/Fall – CanSkate & STARSkate Applications

The 2018 Avalon Region Spring/Fall – CanSkate & STARSkate Applications are now available.

  1. The Avalon Region Spring / Fall CanSkate Applications      SPRING (May 1 – June 9)   FALL (Sep 1 – Sep 25)
  2. The Avalon Region Spring / Fall STARSkate Applications    SPRING (May 1 – June 11  FALL (Sep 1 – Sep 28)


2018 Avalon Region CanSkate Spring & Fall Applications

2018 Avalon Region Fall & Spring School Application



2018 Avalon Region Interclub Schedule & Groupings

2018 Interclub Schedule (Feildian Gardens)

Time             Category/Entries

8:30-8:55        Star 1 Group 1 (5)

8:55-9:15         Star 1 Group 2  (5)

9:15-9:35         Star 1 Group 3  (6)

9:35-9:45         Star 2/3 Dance  (1)

9:45-10:00      Star 2 Boys  (3)

10:00-10:30    Star 2 Girls Group 1 (7)


12:15-12:45     Star 2 Girls Group 2 (7)

12:45-1:15       Star 2 Girls Group 3 (7)

1:15-1:45         Star 2 Girls Group 4 (7)

1:45-2:15         Star 2 Girls Group 5 (8)

2:15-2:25   FLOOD 

2:25-2:55         Star 3   Girls Group 1 (7)

2:55-3:25         Star 3   Girls Group 2 (7)

3:25-3:55         Star 3   Girls Group 3 (7)

3:55-4:25         Star 3   Girls Group 4 (7)

4:25  END 


Provincial synchro championships

Opening ceremonies

Opening ceremonies

Congratulations to all our volunteers who made the 2018 Provincial Synchro Championships a resounding success. A record entry and record crowds (for the first time ever a provincial skating event in the province was sold out) made for a very busy weekend, but it was a great event, and enjoyed by skaters and spectators alike.

Congratulations as well to our teams on some fine performances. Synergy Beginner 2 had a great skate in their skate to standard event. Synergy Novice were a single entry but had two excellent performances. Synergy Intermediate won silver, as did the Juvenile and Pre-Juvenile teams. Both Synergy Adult teams won gold.